top of page
  • Writer's pictureThatsjust Nea

My Buddy


A couple of years ago, a friend of mine told me "You're dope but definitely doper when true to who you are." It moved me... like I could feel it, but I couldn't agree. I felt it because I respect people that will keep it real with me but like.... huh?? An insulted compliment? What are you saying? Am I not being myself? A fraud? Never!


Looking back, I was so stuck on that part of our conversation, I couldn't receive anything he said after that. I mean I heard him, but his reasoning didn't make any sense because like I said I just couldn't receive. Being that I'm the type of person who will analyze things people say and do to me over and over again. I thought about it, all year at that! It finally clicked! He was so right! He IS so right! In this life you need friends... real friends! They can help plug you back to you when you're just going with the blows of life!


I haven't so much fabricated who I am, but more so of concealed things that make me exactly who I am. I hadn't even noticed and wonder if I ever would have put thought into it, if it weren't for him. Due to depression and so many traumatic moments in my life that I didn't know still affected me, I started to live under the forefront of whom I adapted to be to combat those things. Man, that is so deep! I thank God I met Buddy when I did. The fact that he paid attention enough to notice the difference and then the courage and to care enough to call it out is enormous to me, I'm forever grateful! Thank you, Buddy!


His words stuck with me for a purpose! The clarity is so giving at this moment. It not only makes it so much easier to forgive myself for losing sight but also easier to pick up and run from here, flaunting my true self. I've learned a lot of things on this journey back to me... one of them being, you need friends... you need a Buddy.





12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Sabotage

I’m hard on you, I know Cause all that it takes to conjure up this energy, got me thinking I better let you know not to play with me I’m hard on you, I know That the previous scars have nothing to do

Love Song

You make me wanna sing a love song When I’m around you Just wanna stay until the day is gone Nobody love me like you It’s you I love to choose Let me play a love song Feels so safe to call you Superma

Running Flower

Imagine you're in this dark place, you've been in it for quite some time now, the paths aren't always straight and narrow, and it seems like there's no way out. Then suddenly you see a small ray of li

bottom of page